Write It, Work It, Publish It™

I’ve received emails and private messages via Facebook from a few people extending their support on my NaNoWriMo quest. Thank you. I’m chuffed:) It’s proving pretty demanding given my day job (coaching and editing among other projects), but I’m in the zone and I’m really excited to have started this book.

In addition, a few of you have asked how I’m juggling my day job with writing under such a tight schedule and if I can offer any tips. There’s simply too much that is involved in writing that I cannot give tips in one setting here. The short answer though is preparation. I coach book writing, so I have a model, templates and strategies already in place. And though I rushed my outline, I’ve been creating this novel in my head for months.

However, here are some tips on how to prepare for the task of writing. If you are on the threshold of starting to write and you have an idea the first thing is to expand/develop it.

Brainstorm what angle/shape your book will take, what is the theme, where will the setting be? Outline your plot and sub plot, profile your characters, decide what back-story you will include that will enhance the plot etc. If need be, go to the library, read similar books to get your creative mind in gear. Create a chart, vision board, or any other physical element that is relative to the story.

Devise a plan/strategy on how you will approach your writing. Will you write fifteen minutes each day or 1 hour? Will you write 1, or 2 pages each week? Will you write in the mornings, evenings, during your coffee/lunch break? It’s essential to have a strategy in place to achieve your writing goal.

You can download my Free Special Report: Discover The 3 Simple Steps That Will Help You Start And Finish Your Book from www.writetasticsolutions.com that goes in more depth, along with a model example.

I’m on target with my NaNoWriMo word count and that’s my lot for today.

Leave a Reply

