Write It, Work It, Publish It™

Worked on a chapter today that I’m not sure I’m going to use. It’s a shame, because the word count was over 2K. I’m just not feeling it.

Still, somehow, some shape I’ll use it even if I pull sentences and, or, paragraphs to use elsewhere. I never throw my writings away.

Someone recently wrote in a forum I frequent that she was fed up with not getting anywhere with her manuscript and deleted it! I was horrified. I don’t advise any writer to do that.

I know the going can get tough at times from either not making any progress with writing or gaining representation from an agent. If that is the case, it’s probably time to put it aside for a while then when you go back to it, you will approach it with fresh eyes. If that fails, it’s probably time to leave it alone and move on to another book project. Many writers found success with their second, third or even fourth books.

Find a remote home for it in your computer, print it out and box it – tie a big yellow bow if you like, shove it under your bed and move on, but under no circumstances should you throw your writing away.

Even if it turns out that you never breathe life into it years on, think of the experience you gained. You had to learn something.

Leave a Reply

