Write It, Work It, Publish It™

I work pretty hard at keeping healthy and in shape, especially as I’m rooted to my computer for long periods each day, but I’ve been lax with my exercise routine for some time and believe me, I’ve felt it both physically and mentally. So, I made a decision to get back in shape.

Now, I’m not one of those people who roll out of bed onto a mat ready to work out, depending on my schedule, I could work out any time during the course of the day. But just like I challenge myself to pump up my writing routine, I exercise the same thought process to keep in shape and when I’m done, I feel great and full of energy.

Here’s a tip to pump up your writing routine. Challenge yourself. After a few weeks, days even, of doing the same routine, your writing will plateau to a new level, just like your body will from working out. Push yourself to the maximum. That may be increasing your writing time – instead of writing one hour a day, push it to another fifteen or thirty minutes. Pick up the pace, write longer and finish that chapter. Challenging yourself like this will help you finish your book faster.

If you’re at the beginning stage of writing, set a goal. Doing this serves as a measuring stick and makes you accountable. Think about challenging yourself as fun, plus it helps you to focus your efforts/energy in the direction that you want to go, eliminates distractions and makes you mentally stronger.

You would be amazed what you can do when you set yourself a challenge. It will bring out the best in you and before you know it, you would have pumped out your book.

Write It, Work It, Publish it!

© 2012 Cherry-Ann Carew
WOULD YOU LIKE TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR EZINE, NEWSLETTER, MAGAZINE, BLOG OR WEBSITE? Please do, but ensure you include this complete resource box:
Cherry-Ann Carew, aka The Power Writing Coach, Editor, Best-selling author and Founder of Writetastic Solutions is passionate about helping aspiring fiction and non-fiction writers bring out their creative expression to write their books. Learn how her coaching and editing services can help you at http://www.writetasticsolutions.com.

Leave a Reply

